La Quinta i California
When deciding whether to become an Airbnb host, it is important for you to understand the laws in your city. As a platform and marketplace, we do not provide legal advice, but we want to give you some useful links that may help you better understand the laws and regulations in La Quinta. If you have questions, contact the City directly at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Short-Term Vacation Rental (STVR) Regulations
The City of La Quinta allows STVRs to operate with a STVR permit and business license (Chapter 3.25). Hosts must post the STVR permit and Good Guest Brochure in a conspicuous place within the STVR unit at all times.
The City imposed a permanent ban on the issuance of new STVR permits effective May 20, 2021. New permits can only be issued to properties located within exempt areas of the City. Permit renewals are allowed and must be completed no earlier than 60 calendar days and no later than 30 calendar days prior to the permit expiration date. Long-term rental bookings of 31 days or longer do not require a permit.
Permit & Advertising Requirements
Please Note: No new permits are being issued EXCEPT in designated exempt areas.
Any owner, or agent, renting out a property for a period of 30 days or less is REQUIRED to obtain an STVR permit ($255-$1255 annual cost) and business license (annual fee based on yearly gross rental income). For properties within HOAs, an authorization that STVRs are allowed is required. Hosts are required to list their STVR permit number and approved STVR occupancy limit at the top of a listing advertisement on any Airbnb listing.
Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT)
Hosts are required to collect and remit the 10% TOT to the City on a monthly basis. If there is no rental activity, hosts must still file a monthly TOT form to the City of La Quinta.
TBID Assessment Fee
The Greater Palm Springs Tourism Business Improvement District (TBID) was re-established in 2020 and includes STVRs. As of July 1, 2021, all vacation rental lodging within the district must pay the 1% TBID assessment fee on short-term stays of 27 days or less. This assessment fee is collected by the city with your monthly TOT. Visit the TBID website to learn more.
- Orinda i CaliforniaHer finner du informasjon som kan gjøre det lettere å forstå lovene i byen din. Dette kan være til hjelp hvis du vurderer å bli Airbnb-vert.
- Coral Gables, FloridaHer finner du informasjon som kan gjøre det lettere å forstå lovene i byen din. Dette kan være til hjelp hvis du vurderer å bli Airbnb-vert.
- Easton, PennsylvaniaHer finner du informasjon som kan gjøre det lettere å forstå lovene i byen din. Dette kan være til hjelp hvis du vurderer å bli Airbnb-vert.